Chorizo Burgers, Guacamole, and Aguachiles, Oh My!

For the 4th of July, I wanted to do a Mexican barbecue, because it is still awesome to me, having grown up eating hot dogs and hamburgers at every barbeque. But our friends wanted American fare, since they were  in the opposite situation. We decided to compromise by making Mexican themed burgers and hotdogs. We also did end up making aguachiles.

Mariya and I demonstrate what our Prom picture would look like.

For the Chorizo burgers, we used a 5:1 ratio of lean ground beef to raw chorizo. We made sure to mix them when both were very cold and we also mixed some minced jalapeños, onions and cilantro into them. Then we pattied them up and cooked them off. We ended up cooking them pretty well done, because some people were a little spooked about the idea of slightly under-cooked pork, but if I had my druthers, I would have eaten them the same as I eat any hamburger (Medium Rare). They still were pretty moist and tasty at Well Done. Then we topped them with Queso Chihuahua slices, but you could use Muenster (they taste pretty similar and are a similar texture).  We also put some delicious Guacamole on them. They were AMAZING!

We also made some guacamole to top the burgers and eat with corn chips. For my guacamole, I seared on the grill 3 Jalapeños (2 red 1 green) then very small diced (brunoise), small diced 2 Serranos, small diced 1 White Onion, small diced Tomato (not Roma), 3 medium Tomatillos seeded and small diced, 1/2 bunch of Cilantro rough chopped, juice of 3 Limes (or to taste), Salt. Then, of course, 7 Avocados. The avocados, you can cut larger and just mash them up when you mix everything together. I make sure to dice everything else really small, so you can get a bit of everything in every bite. This was a pretty huge batch, but you can scale it back, or you can invite friends over.

Emmanuel must be telling a very good story.

We also made aguachiles. Aguachiles is a ceviche made from raw shrimp, cucumber, chiles, onions, lime and salt. You eat it on tostadas, and it is amazing. If you are skeeved out about the raw shrimp, know that you are essentially cooking the shrimp in all of the salt and lime. You are killing almost any bacteria that is present. Not only that, but the shrimp even gets the texture of cooked shrimp. Plus, it is amazing. I started the Aguachiles by peeling 3 lbs. of a raw shrimp, then I cut them into slightly smaller pieces. Next, I peeled, deseeded, and rough chopped 2 Cucumbers, then I deseeded and rough chopped 3 Chile Manzanas (they are usually golfball sized fleshy round yellow chiles with black seeds and a lot of heat, if you can’t find them, use 2 jalapeños and 1 habanero). We  juiced like 10-12 limes that we poured into a blender cup with the cucumbers, the chiles and Some Salt (a good ammount not sure on the quantity, maybe a handful (you can adjust it to taste after)) and puree them. Then you want to peel 3 more Cucumbers, halve them, deseed them, then slice them. Also thinly slice 1 Red Onion into short strips. Next you just need to mix everything together in a non-reactive bowl or pot. Now you just need to let all of that sit in the fridge for an hour or so. I usually stir it pretty regulary to make sure that the shrimp gets good contact with the acidic mixture. Then you just need to enjoy. Once they have sat for a while in the liquid, you can adjust the acid and the salt content, and then just enjoy it on tostadas. It is so nice and refreshing on a hot summer day. Hope everyone had a great Fourth!!

About iliketocookthings

I was born and raised in West Michigan in a small suburban/farming community called Lowell. I grew up cooking. My family has always been centered around the kitchen. Growing up I tended to cook a lot of Italian-American food, seeing as how I am a whopping 25% Sicilian. When I got into high school I got really into Asian cuisine. I went to college at Central Michigan University, and quickly became homesick and insecure about my areas of study (Spanish and Art). I decided to return to the motherland and begin Culinary School after 2.5 years of moderate success in traditional college. Culinary school was a fun experience, and I learned a lot, but I didn't really fit the profile of my fellow classmates. When finished, I moved to Chicago to explore carreer options. My first place of employment outside of Michigan was Green Zebra, where I learned a lot, but quickly learned that I wasn't cut out for the cooks lifestyle. I stuck it out though, and continued working at both of Shawn McClain's restaurants, for about a year and a half. I now work for Whole Foods, and while it is a corporate environment, three of the biggest perks are access to ingredients, the employee discount, and the 8 hour days that allow me time to do what I really want. I am most happy when cooking in my own kitchen for people that I love. I now live in Saint Paul, Minnesota with my husband Eric and my cat child Fergus. View all posts by iliketocookthings

Leave a Reply

