Stock

Today I made stock in preparation for making molé really soon. I wanted to bust the whole thing out, but I forgot to buy enough lard (yes, lard). I know that in the past I have used a packaged stock, but in this case I really wanted to do it right, seeing as how I want it to be really perfect. I think that it is important to say that stock super easy to make if you are bored, and/or have a half eaten chicken and some mirepoix vegetables lying around. Since I was making this for Mexican food, I sort of planned for this. I bought a rotisserie chicken at work the other day, knowing that not only could we eat the chicken, but then I could make stock out of it’s little chickeny carcass. I  peeled and rough chopped like 5 small carrots, 4 stalks of celery and a large white onion. I spread all of these veggies on a sheet pan, and baked them in a hot oven (400 Degrees) until they shriveled and got a little caramel color. Then I put the chicken body into my stock pot with some peppercorns, allspice, coriander seeds, bayleaf, cilantro stems, a few chiles, and some garlic. Then I covered it all with cold water and brought it up to a boil. I left it simmering for about 20 minutes then turned it off and  let it sit for a half an hour before straining it and refrigerating it. I always bake my vegetables to concentrate the flavors of the vegetables. I also use aromatics to coordinate with the flavors I will be using for the dish I am using it for. I used clove, coriander and cilantro stems for this reason. Cloves play a surprising role in molé, so I made a pretty nice spicy stock, which is reminiscent of one that Ariel, my friend from Green Zebra, made by accident. She put way too much clove in and it tasted like “Christmas” stock and was almost unusable, even though it smelled really good. In this case it works well. So, probably tomorrow, I will get going on this molé, and the deliciousness will begin.

About iliketocookthings

I was born and raised in West Michigan in a small suburban/farming community called Lowell. I grew up cooking. My family has always been centered around the kitchen. Growing up I tended to cook a lot of Italian-American food, seeing as how I am a whopping 25% Sicilian. When I got into high school I got really into Asian cuisine. I went to college at Central Michigan University, and quickly became homesick and insecure about my areas of study (Spanish and Art). I decided to return to the motherland and begin Culinary School after 2.5 years of moderate success in traditional college. Culinary school was a fun experience, and I learned a lot, but I didn't really fit the profile of my fellow classmates. When finished, I moved to Chicago to explore carreer options. My first place of employment outside of Michigan was Green Zebra, where I learned a lot, but quickly learned that I wasn't cut out for the cooks lifestyle. I stuck it out though, and continued working at both of Shawn McClain's restaurants, for about a year and a half. I now work for Whole Foods, and while it is a corporate environment, three of the biggest perks are access to ingredients, the employee discount, and the 8 hour days that allow me time to do what I really want. I am most happy when cooking in my own kitchen for people that I love. I now live in Saint Paul, Minnesota with my husband Eric and my cat child Fergus. View all posts by iliketocookthings

Leave a Reply

